Seishin teki Kyoyo – Spiritual Refinement



For a ninja to be truly effective they were instructed in various manners, to be aware of themselves, and this was achieved via Seishin teki kyoyo. The basic fundamental of this spiritual refinement was to be in the moment at all times, without anything clouding their mind the Ninja would be able to perform effectively. There are 7 basic areas that are involved here but in this brief article we will start with “Self Knowing”.

Self Knowing involves a deep look inward, and knowing oneself. What motivates you? What drives you forward, what are you afraid of? What are you weaknesses?

Sometimes this deep inward journey can be extremely painful, and not all are suited to know themselves to this degree, some cannot do this without a guide to bring them along over a period of time, helping them understand these critical components of their own nature. Others can do this with deep focus and concentration during regular meditation sessions.

As a basic exercise let’s start with a simple understanding of what motivates you.

Start in a comfortable position, and begin to breathe in through your nose and out through your mouth, each cycle count in your head as 1 and when you reach 9 counts start again at 1. As you fall into this rhythm ask yourself this question  : What motivates and drives you each day toward your goals in life?. Continue your meditation focusing deeply on this question, as answers start to come, remember them but push harder and deeper. After your session , immediately start free flow writing everything that you thought of. Over the period of a few such sessions you will surprise yourself with what you begin to realize about yourself.

Now how to use this knowledge, well that is another lesson to come!


Bufu Ikkan!

Airyu – “Living the Ninja Lifestyle”


3 Responses to “Seishin teki Kyoyo – Spiritual Refinement”

  1. Bryan says:

    This is incredible!!!!!!!!!!!!!! could you do the rest of the sections pleaseee!!!

  2. TRON says:

    right i agree bryan
    please do the next sections
    now whenever i am free i do that breathing an it relaxes my mind and make it feel calm

  3. Allan says:

    Isto não é “Seishin teki kyoyo”!!!!

    1. Self knowledge
    2. Understanding nature (reality)
    3. Fate (knowing one’s destiny or call)
    4. Harmony
    5. The heart (Kokoro)
    6. The Eye
    7. Love

    Estes “princípios” estão pendurados na parede do Dojo de Doron Navon, em Israel.

Leave a Reply